Home » NGPC News » Prescribed burns scheduled on public areas across state

Prescribed burns scheduled on public areas across state

LINCOLN, Neb. – The Nebraska Game and Parks Commission will conduct prescribed burns on wildlife management areas (WMA), state recreation areas (SRA) and state parks (SP) when conditions are favorable through April 30, according to Pat Molini, assistant administrator of the Wildlife Division.

The areas scheduled for prescribed burns in each district are:

Southeast District

Cass County – Randall W. Schilling WMA, Rakes Creek WMA, William Gilmour/Tobacco Island WMA; Douglas County – Two Rivers WMA; Fillmore County – Marsh Hawk WMA, Sandpiper WMA, Bluebill WMA; Gage County – Donald Whitney/Diamond Lake WMA, Arrowhead WMA; Jefferson County – Alexandria WMA, Alexandria SW WMA, Rose Creek WMA, Rock Creek Station SHP, Rock Glenn WMA; Johnson County – Osage WMA; Lancaster County – Branched Oak WMA/SRA, Pawnee Lake WMA/SRA, Wildwood WMA, Helmuth WMA, Conestoga WMA, Yankee Hill WMA, Bluestem WMA, Olive Creek WMA, Wagon Train WMA, Stagecoach WMA; Nemaha County – Peru Bottoms WMA, Brownville Bend WMA, Kansas Bend WMA, Langdon Bend WMA, Aspinwall Bend WMA; Otoe County – Hamburg Bend WMA, Triple Creek WMA, Riverview SRA; Pawnee County – Burchard WMA, Pawnee Prairie WMA, Bowwood WMA, Taylor’s Branch WMA, Table Rock WMA, Prairie Knoll WMA; Richardson County – South Fork WMA, Kinter’s Ford WMA; Saline County – Swan Creek WMA; Sarpy County – Schramm Park SRA; Saunders County – Bramble WMA; Seward County – Bur Oak WMA, Twin Lakes WMA, Oak Glen WMA; Thayer County – Little Blue WMA, Little Blue East WMA, Meridian WMA

Southwest District

Clay County – Whitefront WMA, Bluewing WMA; Custer County – Arcadia Diversion Dam WMA, Pressey WMA; Dawson County – Bittern’s Call WMA; Frontier County – Medicine Creek WMA/SRA, Red Willow WMA/SRA; Hall County – Cornhusker WMA; Hamilton County – Deep Well WMA, Gadwall WMA, Pintail WMA; Harlan County – South Sacramento WMA; Hitchcock County – Swanson WMA/SRA; Howard County – Marsh Wren WMA, Leonard A. Koziol WMA, Loup Bottoms WMA; Keith County – Clear Creek WMA; Lincoln County – Cedar Valley; Phelps County – West Sacramento WMA, Sacramento-Wilcox WMA; Sherman County – Sherman Reservoir WMA/SRA

Northeast District

Brown County – Bobcat WMA, South Pine WMA, Plum Creek Valley; Dixon County – Elk Point WMA, Powder Creek WMA; Knox County – Lewis and Clark SRA, Bohemia Prairie WMA, Niobrara SP; Madison County – Oak Valley WMA; Merrick County – Dr. Bruce Cowgill WMA; Nance County – Council Creek WMA; Platte County – Wilkinson WMA, George D. Syas WMA; Stanton County – Wood Duck WMA; Valley/Greeley County – Davis Creek WMA; Wayne County – Thompson Barnes

Northwest District

Cherry County – Cottonwood/Steverson WMA

Controlled burning is used to enhance vegetation for wildlife nesting, loafing and brood rearing cover. It also helps reduce woody invasion into the habitat.

About Jerry Kane

Jerry Kane is the news manager with the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission. He can be contacted at jerry.kane@nebraska.gov or 402-471-5008.

Check Also

Standing Bear Lake to be chemically renovated

Standing Bear Lake in Omaha will be chemically renovated April 11, weather pending, to remove …