Home » NGPC News » Lincoln Pius’ Alberts wins 16-yard title at Cornhusker Trapshoot

Lincoln Pius’ Alberts wins 16-yard title at Cornhusker Trapshoot

DONIPHAN, Neb. – Friday’s senior high school 16-yard competition in the 48th Cornhusker Trapshoot was just a warmup for the top two finishers. In the end, Trevin Alberts of Lincoln Pius X came out on top.

Alberts broke all 75 of his targets, then hit 174 of 175 targets to survive nine challengers in a shoot-off to win the title. He edged Weston Zolck of Blair, who earlier shot a 75 before breaking 173 of 175 in the shoot-off.

The ladies’ competition came down to a four-way shoot-off, with Lauryn Monteforte of Fillmore County 4-H prevailing. She shot a 74, then hit 74 out of 75 in the shoot-off.

5 Clovers repeated as 4-H team champion with a 363 out of 375. Team members are McKenna Schwisow, Tyler Rezabek, Trenton Holly, Michael Tinsley and Hayden Baehr.

Papillion LaVista South scored a 339 of 375 to win the ladies’ team title. Team members are Eva Thummel, Payton DeTavernier, Nicole McCullough, Jade Chapman and Morgan Johnson.

Blair claimed the high school team crown. Zolck, Billy Miller, Derek Dishman, Nate Peleska and Courtney Nielsen combined for a 361 of 375. Miller, last year’s Cornhusker Cup winner as the overall event champion, shot a 72 Friday.

Saturday’s scores in the 75 handicap targets will be combined with Friday’s scores to determine the overall champion, the Cornhusker Cup winner.

On Thursday, 843 shooters competed in the junior high division; 1,641 shooters competed in the senior high division Friday.

Friday’s results in the 16-yard competition are:

Top 20 Individuals – 1. Trevin Alberts, Lincoln Pius X, 75 of 75 (won shoot-off); 2. Weston Zolck, Blair, 75; 3. Garrett Engel, Elkhorn Mount Michael, 75; 4. Hunter Smith, Lincoln Southwest, 75; 5. Bryce Wert, Crooked Creek 4-H, 75; 6. Sam Philson, Lincoln Southwest, 75; 7. Dalton Stones, Papillion-LaVista, 75; 8. Keo Wever, North Platte, 75; 9. Nicholas Kozlik, Papillion-LaVista, 75; 10. Mitch Germany, Papillion-LaVista, 75; 11. Zack Holten, Platte Valley 4-H, 74; 12. Travis Elledge, Papillion-LaVista South, 74; 13. Brock Barton, Fairbury, 74; 14. Cody Jester, Young Guns 4-H, 74; 15. Vincent Falcone, Papillion-LaVista South, 74; 16. Sawyer Koch, Minden, 74; 17. Chase Litchfield, Lincoln Southeast, 74; 18. Colton Johnson, Norris, 74; 19. Jared Thonen, Omaha Skutt, 74. 20. Andrew Jones, Millard West, 74

Top Six Ladies – 1. Lauryn Monteforte, Fillmore County 4-H, 74 of 75 (won shoot-off); 2. Hannah Dering, Lincoln Southwest, 74; 3. Eva Thummel, Papillion-LaVista South, 74; 4. Payton DeTavernier, Papillion-LaVista South, 74; 5. Carley Witt, Sidney 4-H, 73; 6. Anna Denman, Omaha Duchesne, 73

Top Three 4-H Teams – 1. 5 Clovers 4-H (McKenna Schwisow, Tyler Rezabek, Trenton Holly, Michael Tinsley, Hayden Baehr), 363 of 375; 2. Fillmore County 4-H, 355; 3. Blue River 4-H Red, 353

Top Three Ladies Teams – 1. Papillion-LaVista South (Eva Thummel, Nicole McCullough, Morgan Johnson, Payton DeTavernier, Jade Chapman), 339 of 375; 2. Lincoln Southwest Pink, 338; 3. Omaha Duchesne Dash 1, 337


Top Six High School Teams – 1. Blair 1 (Weston Zolck, Billy Miller, Derek Dishman, Nate Peleska, Courtney Nielsen), 361 of 375; 2. Louisville Purple, 360; 3. Omaha Skutt Black, 359; 4. Lincoln Southwest Silver, 358; 5. Norris 1, 356; 6. Omaha Creighton Prep Blue, 354

Jim Carlisle Memorial Second Generation Individual (traveling trophy) – John DeFord, Lincoln Northeast

For more information, visit cornhusker-trap.com.

About Jerry Kane

Jerry Kane is the news manager with the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission. He can be contacted at jerry.kane@nebraska.gov or 402-471-5008.

Check Also

Standing Bear Lake to be chemically renovated

Standing Bear Lake in Omaha will be chemically renovated April 11, weather pending, to remove …