Home » NGPC News » Assman Wins 16-Yard Title at Cornhusker Trapshoot

Assman Wins 16-Yard Title at Cornhusker Trapshoot

DONIPHAN, Neb. – Of the approximately 1,400 shooters competing in the 44th Annual Cornhusker Trapshoot on Friday, Derek Assman of Fremont was perfect.

He broke every target he faced at 16 yards to win the senior high division. Assman hit all 75 in regulation, then 25 straight to win a shoot-off.

Taylor Benes of Wahoo Bishop Neumann scored a 74 for the top girls score of the day. The Lincoln Southwest Gold team of Zach Jeffery, Will Malcom, Austin Drake, J.P. Deeds and Chase Walter combined to break 359 of 375 targets to win the team title.

Saturday’s scores in the 75 handicap targets will be combined with Friday’s scores to determine the overall champion, the Cornhusker Cup winner.

Because of a larger field of shooters this year and time requirements, senior high participants are shooting 75 targets a day rather than 100. The two practice traps also were used and each squad faced a 45-minute time limit.

“The trapshoot went tremendously well due entirely because we had 1,400 of Nebraska’s finest youth participating in this event,” shoot director Terry Brentzel said. “Going to 75 rocks meant we ended the day’s competition before the sun went down.”

Friday’s results in the 16-yard competition are:

Top 10 Individuals – 1. Derek Assman, Fremont, 75 of 75 (won shoot-off); 2. Nathan Arnold, Omaha Creighton Prep, 75; 3. Jacob Frerichs, Young Guns 4-H, 75; 4. Keenan Kremke, Karp and Krow 4-H, 75; 5. Steven Hart, Sarpy County 4-H, 75; 6. Ben Barrett, Omaha Creighton Prep, 75; 7. Lumir Drahota, Mount Michael, 74; 8. Zach Jeffery, Lincoln Southwest, 74; 9. Jonathan Swanson, Wahoo Bishop Neumann, 74; 10. Caleb Loos, Lincoln Northeast, 74

Top Three Girls – 1. Taylor Benes, Wahoo Bishop Neumann, 74; 2. Sadey Mitchell, Karp and Krow 4-H, 73; 3. Morgan Chipps, Norris, 72

Top Three 4-H Teams – 1. Hastings 4-H I (Cody Newlun, Adam Florian, Genny McKown, Andrew Rutt, Gus Clark), 357 of 375; 2. Karp and Krow 4-H I, 355; 3. Sarpy County 4-H I, 353

Top Three Girls Teams – 1. Omaha Marian Blue (Brianna Rakes, Maddie Worth, Natalie Bialas, Lori Nevole, Anna Vasko), 342; 2. Lincoln Southwest Pink, 332; 3. Papillion-LaVista Lady Titans I, 331

Top Six Teams – 1. Lincoln Southwest Gold (Zach Jeffery, Will Malcom, Austin Drake, J.P. Deeds, Chase Walter), 359; 2. Waverly Maroon, 358 (won shoot-off); 3. Fremont I, 358; 4. Lincoln Pius X I, 354; 5. Lincoln Southwest Silver, 354; 6. Omaha Creighton Prep Blue, 353

Jim Carlisle Memorial Second Generation Individual (traveling trophy) – Jason Scheer and Rick Scheer, 73

About Jerry Kane

Jerry Kane is the news manager with the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission. He can be contacted at jerry.kane@nebraska.gov or 402-471-5008.

Check Also

Standing Bear Lake to be chemically renovated

Standing Bear Lake in Omaha will be chemically renovated April 11, weather pending, to remove …