Home » NGPC News » Don’t drink while operating a motorboat

Don’t drink while operating a motorboat

LINCOLN, Neb. – Nebraskans are urged to not drink alcohol while operating a boat during the Memorial Day weekend, warns the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission.

Boat operators can become impaired with less alcohol than motor vehicle drivers due to heat and dehydration.

In Nebraska, it is unlawful to operate a motorboat with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or greater. Doing so constitutes Boating Under the Influence (BUI), which carries a penalty of up to $1,000 fine, up to six months in jail, and loss of boating privileges for six months. Refusal to submit to a chemical blood alcohol test will result in the same penalties as BUI.

About Jerry Kane

Jerry Kane is the news manager with the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission. He can be contacted at jerry.kane@nebraska.gov or 402-471-5008.

Check Also

Mitch and Heather Bartunek introduced their 2-year-old daughter, Tinley, to fishing this year. Now that they have won the grand prize in the 2021 Take ’em Fishing program, they can take her fishing next year in their new Bass Tracker Classic XL fishing boat courtesy of Bass Pro Shops and Cabela’s. (Nebraska Game and Parks Commission)

Bartunek family receives grand prize boat in Take ’em Fishing program

LINCOLN, Neb. – When the opportunity arose, Mitch and Heather Bartunek decided to introduce their …