Home » Nongame Bird Blog » VOTE NOW: Name-the-chick finalists!

VOTE NOW: Name-the-chick finalists!

After receiving 507 submissions during the first phase of our “name-the-chick” contest, a select committee had the tremendous challenge of selecting finalists.  After gut-wrenching deliberations and fierce debate, the committee chose the five finalists.  With finalists selected, it is now time for “the people” to have the final word.  Below, I provide the finalists along with the explanation or justification as to why the eyas should receive the respective name.  Then, below this is the actual poll.  The finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Bertram – In honor Bertram Goodhue, Nebraska State Capitol, Architect.
  • Orozco – In honor of Omaha Police officer Kerrie Orozco who was killed in the line of duty in May.
  • Sower – The falcon was born and raised in the shadow of our great state’s historical pride of the prairie (the sower atop the Capitol).
  • Thunder – In recognition of the stormy spring and the speed at which a Peregrine Falcon is able to fly.
  • Uno – The male eyas was the only “one” out of the four eggs to hatch.
[poll id=”3″]


Thanks to everyone that submitted a name and thanks to everyone for voting.  Voting ends at 10 p.m. on 19 June.  The winner will be announced on 22 June.

Nongame Bird Blog

About Joel Jorgensen

Joel Jorgensen is a Nebraska native and he has been interested in birds just about as long as he has been breathing. He has been NGPC’s Nongame Bird Program Manager for eight years and he works on a array of monitoring, research, regulatory and conservation issues. Nongame birds are the 400 or so species that are not hunted and include the Whooping Crane, Least Tern, Piping Plover, Bald Eagle, and Peregrine Falcon. When not working, he enjoys birding.

Check Also

Barn Owl Rescue

An Act of Devotion Nebraska Game and Parks district offices get many calls about wildlife. …